Current market, the Great Depression and recommended readings

Hi everyone,

I'm new to investing and all the podcasts and websites I follow are calling for a market crash that would rival the Great Depression. Therefore I have been trying to understand the conditions that led to the 1929 crash and today's environment.

From what I can understand, the Great Depression was a deflation in the US and other developed markets from a supply and demand imbalance. The prices of commodities began to fall due to oversupply and decreasing demand. I think this was caused do to rapid expansion of credit and malinvestment. The fall in commodities is the same as what we've seen in the last 5 years however the CPI has continued to show inflation. So we have been going through a deflationary environment in commodities but the US government managed to stop the deflation in the economy through quantitative easing. QE wasn't necessary back in 1930 because the US was a creditor nation so the rise in long term interest rates (due to contraction of credit) had little effect on the ability of the US treasury to pay their debts. However in today's environment the US, along with every other country, has been increasing their debt and engineering economic growth through consumption rather than investment which is unsustainable. They stopped QE back in 2011 hence why commodities have declined in price since then. So now we're in a deflationary environment and the US can't allow this to continue because deflation hampers the governments ability to make interest payments on their existing debt coupled with current deficits and un-funded liabilities of Medicare, social security and Obamacare. This is why the Fed insists upon a 2% inflation target.