Invest now and weather the storm or wait for sunny days?

I'm fairly new to value investing and while I understand that it is very difficult to time the market, I was hoping for some advice for the right time to jump in. I have a good chunk of cash saved up that I hoped to invest in an index ETF per recommendations by Buffet and other value investors, but is now the right time? On one hand, through research and listening to financial news, the market is highly inflated and many of the ETFs indices (ex: tracking the S&P 500) are over-valued and hitting all-time highs every other day. History shows that we are due for a correction and the market is primed. However, on the other hand, as I already mentioned, you can't time the market. Tony Robbins gives an example in his most recent book Unshakeable about 5 hypothetical portfolios in which an investor has $2000 to invest every year for 20 years. From 1992 to 2012, the investor who correctly times the best day every year for 20 years would end with $87,000 and the investor who picks the worst day every year for 20 years would end with $70,000. The investor who invests that money immediately would have $80,000 and one with dollar cost averaging would have $75,000. And in the end, the investor who kept it all as cash would have $57,000. Scenarios like these make me believe that maybe now is the right time to invest some cash while saving some for the future (80%, 20% split).

Before I ramble on more, I'm interested to hear everyone's thoughts on my question. Is now the right time or should I wait to make my first investment? And secondly, am I correct that an ETF index is the right place to start or do you see better opportunities elsewhere?

Thanks

Answers

• Hi,

You don't have to go all in to begin with, if you don't feel completely sure. You could take a portion of your savings (less than the 80% you mention) and begin simple with an ETF to 'get your feet wet' or to test your judgement.