GAAP vs non-GAAP

hello everyone, I'm fairly new to investing.

My question is with regards to GAAP (general accepted account standards) and non-GAAP. I don't really understand why Non-GAAP exist or how it is useful. If a company has said it is profitable on a non GAAP basis and not profitable on GAAP basis, which one should I use as a reference? should I just ignore the non GAAP?

Thanks

Comments

• Hi massive02,

GAAP is a system for using accrual accounting, many small businesses may use cash accounting which can strew financial information between fiscal periods.

Generally accepted accounting principles have been around for a while. I'm in Canada and we have our own GAAP which is fairly similar to US GAAP. There is a shift in Canada and the international community to switch to the new IFRS (international financial reporting standards.) US seems more set in their ways against the switch. I believe if a company is listed as a public company in the US they are required to use GAAP or list the differences. Any private company can really use any rules they want within reason. The IRS would have their own requirements for filing taxes so this leads to differences in capital assets current value, depreciation, revenue recognition and future tax assets/liabilities based on the differences.

That is why many newer markets are harder to value as they may be less stringent in following any GAAP or IFRS.