Computer Science Books?

Hey everyone,

I recently started a job at a software company and I wanted to see if anyone knows a good comprehensive book to begin learning computer science and about software in general for a non computer science major. I understand this isn't about investing but I feel that the TIP community is the best place for me to ask this question.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• What kind of job do you have at the software company?
  • I'm a business development rep but I'm looking to go into solutions engineering
  • edited January 18
    I have transitioned from a non software position ( I was an engineer in a past life) into a software role. Its been a long road, but here is what I'd recommend.

1. Pick a subject that interests you. Do you like finance? How about developing web sites?
    2. Next, pick a language that suits your immediate needs. Finance and data are handled well by python.
    3. Begin a simple project that interests you once you get the basics down. You cannot learn this field by reading. You have to see how everything works together. Do you want a database with financial data? Learn how to program to get the data, clean it, and migrate it to a database. you'll cover a lot of ground this way.
    4. Once you have some of the basics down, you can start digging into more specific aspects of software. The more you learn, the more capacity you'll have to learn software.

Here are some area's i'd suggest learning about:

1. IT infrastructure. Learn networking and how computers talk to eachother. The cloud is big these days, so you can hop onto amazon and learn about their basic offerings.
    2. The web - learn about how a web application works. Learn about how servers serve content, how browsers handle content, and everything in between.
    3. databases - persistence is the backbone of any enterprise software company and their offerings. Learning relational ( SQL) or non relational ( noSQL) is useful.